Let’s Read a Book……Or 2 Week 9 Chapters 40-41

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 10.28.34 PMHalloooooo!!  Yes, it’s Sunday.  Yes, this has been ready to type since Wednesday.  Yes, it’s Sunday.  <<sigh A_gain>> When real life sneaks into my book life, I just have to shrug and ask book life’s indulgence.  Love you all, but family first, yes???

So a couple of housekeeping things before delving in to our study points for this week.  This will be the last week to see the above announcement.  Same shape and color, just a different time will begin showing up.  At the request of a fellow book club lover, we are going to try to meet at 7 P.M. Central Daylight Time, USA.  That makes it 8 P.M. Eastern and if Robert reads this, I’ll let him post all the other world times since time (obviously) is NOT one of my strong suites!! And the second part is that I will post a blog next week BUT we will NOT be meeting next week. IKR???? We are taking a week off for people to catch up or re-read or just take a week off.  There will be a blog, though and I will check to see if Mrs. Fitz wants to just have a sound off session or just meet to say, “He-ey!” We’ll call it our “withoutlander” tweener episode!!

Ahhhhh, we are at all the romantic, well mostly, stuff again!! YAY!!  Jamie is back, Claire is in bed and Father Anselm is in to check on her.  Then she sits up.  Fuzzy enshrouded her.  Here’s the scientific explanation.  Sitting up too fast: https://www.reddit.com/r/explainlikeimfive/comments/22ftyd/eli5_what_causes_your_eyes_to_see_stars_when/

Here we go, back to my “I didn’t know very much about Catholicism” excuse.  I do attend a church where the pastor wears a stole. I did NOT know that there were rules and patterns.  I love this lady’s blog about making them.  She sees it as her ministry and that is a very lovely sentiment!!

Definition first……Stola: http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/14301a.htm
Scroll through to see some beautiful hand-made stoles. There’s also a kit you can purchase to learn to make them, as well!! 😉
http://www.churchlinens.com/stoles/

Anselm’s reaction to C’s confession. So unexpected and joyous!! 😍
“But how marvelous!” he exclaimed softly. “How extraordinary, and how wonderful!”
“ ‘Wonderful’ isn’t precisely the word I would have chosen,” I said dryly, “but ‘extraordinary’ is all right.” I coughed and reached for more wine.
“But it is … a miracle,” he said, as though to himself.
“If you insist,” I said, sighing. “But what I want to know—what ought I to do? Am I guilty of murder? Or adultery, for that matter?”

Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

And I love his non-judgmental response, as well. “Let me pray and contemplate” We always forget the contemplate part when praying!!  So wise, so very, very wise.

***Ahhhhhh….J smiles in his sleep. Anyone else relieved?

“Jamie slept for nearly two days, waking only to take a little broth or wine. Once awake, he began to heal in the usual fashion of a normally healthy young man, suddenly deprived of the strength and independence usually taken for granted. In other words, he enjoyed the cosseting for approximately twenty-four hours and then became in turn restive, restless, testy, irritable, cranky, fractious, and extremely bad-tempered.”

Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Aloe–WHAT AN AWESOME INVENTION!!  First time I ever met aloe vera was in college.  My roommate and I were sunbathing on a roof of a building. A black roof.  Yes, I was burned to a crisp.  Couldn’t wear a vital piece of underclothing, couldn’t lean in a chair or sleep on my back.  A Chemistry professor noticed the not-able-to-lean-back-in-the-chair part and volunteered one his student’s aloe plants.  A senior was doing an experiment and had lab tables full of mature plants.  This was a burn that was going to peel and peel some more.  I peeled once and had the best tan ever after only several days application straight from the plant.  I make sure I never run out.  It is so much easier in the bottle now.  Aloe was new to my little college, but it’s not new as a salve.  Here’s another scientific bit.  Aloe in 18th C: http://www.aloelf.com/aloe-vera/medicinal-history-of-aloe-vera/

We love Murtaugh sooooooo much, so when Claire is ready to kill Jamie herself this time, his acerbic question says it all. “He’s feeling better, then?”, tickled me!! DG made him a man of few words but they were significant words!! 😂😂😂

Probably could save these later for the big romantic scene, but they put their feet in the koi pond first, so you get the springs now!

American Hot Springs:
Oregon (would have to visit Magic Unicorn while here!!) http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/travel/outdoors/top-five/2014/11/08/top-hot-springs-western-oregon-public-private/18495305/

Missouri: I’ve been to the springs at The Elms! http://opulentopossum.blogspot.com/2011/07/roadtrip-excelsior-springs-missouri.html?m=1

North Carolina: http://nchotsprings.com/

Utah w/fish ponds:
http://www.mystichotsprings.com/l2_soaking.html

Colorado: Glenwood Springs (been here, too) http://www.hotspringspool.com/swim

France: http://www.travelwriterstales.com/sfrance.htm

As Claire and Father Anselm visit with their feet dangling in a mineral spring and fishies nibbling at their toes, Anselm reassures Claire of her position.  The “shipwrecked” traveler is another stroke of genius from our wonderful DG.  Anselm turns Claire away from her guilt and toward a light, referring to her “predicament” as a gift.  How many times do we see the negative in ourselves and our surroundings when we really need to see who we are and what we have as assets and/or gifts.  Which leads to this next bit…….

The importance of a confidant.  Everyone needs someone to confide in, to unload on, to vent to.  When you find that person, hold onto them.  Some people come into our lives for a season, though, and they can be just as strong of a lifeline as those that are with us for ever.  Twitter acts as that for some.  It’s a great way to make a new circle of friends!!
“I can’t tell you what a relief it is to talk to someone about it,” I said. “And I still can’t get over the fact that you really do believe me.”
He shrugged, gallantly offering me an arm to hold while I slipped the rough straps of the sandal over my instep.
“Ma chère, I serve a man who multiplied the loaves and fishes”—he smiled, nodding at the pool, where the swirls of the carps’ feeding were still subsiding—“who healed the sick and raised the dead. Shall I be astonished that the master of eternity has brought a young woman through the stones of the earth to do His will?”

Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

I loved how Father Anselm still believes in miracles.  Do you??

Abbey-made ales: http://beersmith.com/blog/2010/09/01/trappist-dubbel-and-tripel-beer-recipes/

I am not a beer drinker.  Never have been, never will be. Or have I insulted ale drinkers?  I don’t know if they are the same or not and do you see how I haven’t even stopped to look it up?  That’s how much I care about the difference!!  Have a found a few whiskys (whiskies??) I like, and I do so LOVE a margarita!!

“The Escape Artist” 

Murtaugh, again a man of fewer words while waiting on Claire to discover that the dear boy has es-cah-payed. (Reference to Finding Nemo if you didn’t recognize the phonetic pronunciation of escape. ;-P  )

***Were you surprised that Jamie escaped contrary to everyone’s advice??

Important uses for oak trees!!
http://www.winespectator.com/drvinny/show/id/42395

French oak forests: http://tinyurl.com/nfzgywo

And I would be remiss if I didn’t throw in oak trees from my home state, Missouri!!  http://tinyurl.com/p42cyot

Here we have another herb that I had no clue what it was.  Elecampane:
Photos: http://tinyurl.com/o6ts5fm
Uses: http://www.m.webmd.com/vitamins/ai/ingredientmono-2/elecampane/source-3

BJR’s love for his younger brother……. Here’s what I wanted to refer to in last week’s blog but refrained from **SPOILERS**  We see BJR through Herself’s eyes and she flat out calls him a psychopath.  And I do love Jamie and Claire ever so much more than any Frank or BJR storyline, but I am and always have been a curious reader.  Hence this blog.  Why?  What caused the skewing of BJR’s personality?  Was he always going to be a psychopath; was there a moment he could’ve been redeemed; was it nature or nurture??!!  Only DG can tell us for sure, so there might not ever be an answer, but I’m asking anyway.  I want to know what exactly was in his twisted mind that made him call out his little brother’s name.  Was it the shame and guilt of an unnatural, perverted love for his brother that caused his descent into darkness?  All good questions, I suppose. I will suffer unrequited curiosity alone, though.  <<sigh>>

Do you love the parallel of J’s “I was half way down the….before….” to C’s room at the Abbey like C’s journey to J at the base of Craigh na Dun?? 👏👏👏👏👏❤️❤️❤️  DG is such a genius.  I am repeating myself, I know.  It’s my blog!! 

***Your reaction when C catches J crying over his hand….Same as C’s?? Were you surprised at the real reason he was crying?  What a difference a century or two makes in the tools of the medical trade.  And the mind set it took to change the “way it’s always been done”.  I so glad someone decided to figure out how the body actually worked, or my broken arm when I was a kid might have ended in amputation.  Hard to play the piano with one hand.  8-(

Amputation in the 1700’s:
http://www.sciencescribe.net/articles/Surgery_in_the_1700s.pdf
Medical instruments: http://95.129.105.34/online_science/explore_our_collections/objects/index/smxg-165529

Claire had Father Anselm as a conscience while Jamie wasn’t himself, but it is NOT the same as having your heart beat as one with your soul mate’s as Jamie’s and Claire’s have.  She finally gets to let Jamie in all of her adventures over the last few months.  I call it ‘Claire’s Release’.

“I told him then the things I had had no chance to tell him; about the wolf, and the other wolves, and Hector, and the snow, and the cottage with the bear, and the argument with Sir Marcus, and the appearance of Murtagh, and the cattle, and the long wait on the hillside in the pink mist of the snow-swept night, waiting to see whether he was dead or alive.”
“Thin or not, his chest was broad and his arms warm and strong. He pressed my face into his shoulder and rocked me while I sobbed. I tried for a bit to control myself, but he only hugged me harder, and said small and gentle things into the cloud of my hair, and I finally gave up and cried with the complete abandon of a child, until I was worn to utter limpness and hiccupping exhaustion.”

Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBookstore: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/outlander/id418648691?mt=11

Sometimes a girl just needs a good cry.  And the darling just hadn’t had time to cry, yet.  http://www.drjudithorloff.com/Free-Articles/The-Health-Benefits-of-Tears_copy.htm

Folks, this is just one of THE most romantic of endings of any book I have ever read.  And I’ve read quite a few.  It even beats Jane Austin’s Pride and Prejudice.  Yes, I’m sorry Jane lovers, but it’s the truth.  I do truly feel sorry for those of you that had to wait, years sometimes, for the next in the series.  I was a late comer to the party and as soon as I finished one, I ordered the next one.  Sometimes this was at 1:00 A.M.  My husband thought I was nuts and almost disowned me.  Not really, but he did think I was nuts.

As a reminder, we will meet tonight at 8:00 P.M. as usual.  We are off next week (August 9th) unless you would like to just meet to keep in touch.  The following week (August 16th) we are changing the time to an hour earlier, 7:00 P.M. cdt, USA.  Don’t worry, we will send reminders.  AND we will be moving to DIA, reading Chapters 1-6.  That’s about 100 pages and you have 2 weeks to get there!  That’s less than 10 pages a day.  You can do it!!!

Sincerely,

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 4.38.58 PM                                                               Mrs. Fitz, moderator

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 4.38.32 PM

woodzey1, blogger

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

