Let’s Read a Book……Or 2 Week 7 Chapters 37-39

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 10.28.34 PMWhy is it everywhere I go now, there is something that reminds me of an Outlander episode or a scene from the book or something that I would like to share with Terry or even (she says with awe in her voice) Herself??  Anyone else suffering from this primal urge??  I HOPE it’s not just me.  We just returned from beautiful Branson, Missouri, and if you haven’t been, you need to go sometime in your life.  There are things to do for all ages and interests.  From tourist traps to cultural, you won’t be bored!!

These ‘knobs’ are all over coming into Branson.  The area was made famous in a book called Shepherd of the Hills.

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 1.21.11 PM

Here are some photos from a golf course we visited.  If I played golf, I’d be too distracted to actually play well.  Hahahaha!! It’s called Top of the Rock and it’s owned by Johnny Morris of Bass Pro Shop fame.  It’s public and it’s a par 3 course.  Public don’t mean cheap here, though!!!

This Civil War cannon is shot off at sunset every night as bagpipes are playing.  The water in view is Table Rock Lake.  The lake levels are so high that the first island you see is really a peninsula when the lake is at it’s normal level.


The reflecting pool below is situated center far right in the chapel picture above.


This is the view from my DH’s college.  The water you see between the trees is Lake Taneycomo.  It is a trout “lake” caused by Table Rock Dam.  The water is so cold, the college pipes it up to use as air conditioning for all the buildings during the summer.  They’ve been doing it ever since the dam was built.  How unique is that?? The college is College of the Ozarks.  He graduated debt free because the students work for their scholarships.  Literally………Landscaping, hotel, restaurant, agriculture….all student labor and it pays for their college tuition!!  Too bad my kids didn’t want to attend.  <<sigh>>

Okay, so on to what you actually signed up for…..Book Club!! Oh, and before I begin, I want to thank Mary Jo (@mary_jo_malo) for her tip on shortening URL’s .  If you have that problem when quoting websites, go to TinyURL.com.  OMGoodness!!  Space saver deluxe!!
Since the adventure takes place in winter, I did some research on the snowfall in England and Scotland: http://www.currentresults.com/Weather/United-Kingdom/snowfall-annual-average.php
Slideshow of snows this past January: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/scotland-weather-heavy-snowfall-due-5051759#
Whisky in portable containers was usually animals skins.  Unless, of course, you were a wealthy man.
Flasks now: http://www.pockethipflask.co.uk/history-of-the-hip-flask/  And then: http://tinyurl.com/qhld34d
I tried to find directions for our weary, wounded travelers, but I struck out.
Ballagh is not real, in Scotland anyway😝 There is one in Ireland. Which is another book altogether😉

When Claire has to kill the young prison guard, I was curious about the instantaneous-ness of his death.  I recall spies using that method but it was difficult to get information that we normal people could read.  I did find this.
Beware!! 🙈 This has a graphic picture. Stab wound at the base of the neck that DIDN’T kill. Crazy!! https://writersforensicsblog.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/stab-wounds-don%E2%80%99t-always-kill/
I don’t believe that’s where Claire stabbed him though.  She used the soft squishy part at the base of the skull.  Maybe I should have typed “base of the skull” in instead of base of the neck.  Oh weeeel!! You get what you get!!


You can see that the journey from the Highlands wasn’t a hop, skip and a jump to France. http://tinyurl.com/pyzj4zc
21st sailing trip across the channel: http://youtu.be/XHh5zSYYUaA
You can definitely see how anyone could be seasick with the swell and roll the sea makes!!
Seasickness and cures: notice #17!! http://gcaptain.com/seasickness-ways-tackle/#.VbEE9Ym9K0c  
If you haven’t read through Voyager, yet, keep this in mind!!
I’ll bet most of you have seen this next picture.  It toured Twitter a while back and I thought it was the cutest photoshopped picture ever created.  It’s a dormouse.  And this is the story behind the photo that was circulating TW a few months ago. It’s a real un-photoshopped pic!! http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2309375/Having-squeal-time-The-tiny-laughing-dormouse-hide-delight-spring-finally-here.html
I have always read historical novels.  I would’ve loved to have had these pictures when reading Brother Cadfael books!! If you haven’t read them, they are by Ellis Peters.
12th century French Abbey pictures. http://tinyurl.com/ovlpsze There’s a picture in there that could just be Brother Polydore’s garden!!

If you ever wondered, “Why abbeys?”, here you go! http://tinyurl.com/pkhdjap

Some interesting reading about France and the Jacobites. Very interesting. Had to tear myself away to continue working on research!! http://historyworld.net/wrldhis/PlainTextHistoriesResponsive.asp?ParagraphID=oaq

The stuff of nightmares. C and J experience nightmares at the same time. Great coincidence, ya think??! Here’s the meaning behind Shakespeare’s quote about dreams: http://www.shmoop.com/shakespeare-quotes/stuff-as-dreams-are-made-on/meaning-now.html
Claire’s nightmare definitely depicted how futile she felt her actions were to save Jamie, so far.  I wonder what Joseph, a great diviner of dreams from the bible, would have interpreted her dream?
Nightmares: http://www.sci-news.com/othersciences/psychology/science-content-nightmares-bad-dreams-01905.html
Then there’s Jamie’s dream brought on by the usually soothing incense of lavender.  It is sold everywhere as a relaxing scent to spritz on your pillow at bedtime.
Scents and fear: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2522696/Aromas-bring-bad-memories-sense-active-frightened.html
Lavender: http://tinyurl.com/pbk8qy6
Uses for lavender: http://gardentherapy.ca/harvesting-english-lavender/
Not being Catholic at all, I do have a great appreciation for the beauty of the ritual, the music of the mass, the devotion of the members of the church that are not seen in other denominations.  I loved working with the Franciscan nuns at their nursing home during college.  http://osfsav.org/index.php/heritage/american-province/  It had been a Cancer Sanatorium for 40 years before the nuns purchased it for a nursing home for women.  Dark and eerie with cork flooring that absorbed all light and sound……. Moving on…….Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 2.09.53 PM
Marigold ointment isn’t what you think. https://www.mountainroseherbs.com/products/calendula-flowers/profile
Herbal ointment recipes: http://www.diynatural.com/natural-herbal-healing-ointment-salve/

St. Giles: http://www.americancatholic.org/Features/Saints/saint.aspx?id=1521

Perpetual Adoration: current and American: http://www.strpdparish.org/sacraments-worship/adoration.html

History of: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eucharistic_adoration

Caudle: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/caudle
And a few recipes: http://www.foodsofengland.co.uk/caudelorcaudle.htm

On being Catholic: “You are not a Catholic?” he asked in surprise. “Ah, but I forgot, you are English. So of course, I suppose you would be Protestant.”
“I’m not sure that I’m either one, in terms of belief,” I said. “But technically, at least, I suppose I am a Catholic.”
“Technically?” The smooth eyebrows shot up in astonishment.”

Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Even in my non-Catholic existence, I had heard “Once Catholic, always Catholic”.  I probably was not thinking it about it in a beautiful way in my youth, being a member of a denomination that thought they were the only ones going to heaven.  I’ve definitely asked for forgiveness since then!! My cousins were Catholic and I had to be given special permission to play the organ for her wedding.  It was an amazing service in an amazing church!!  I think I had the best view from the balcony, where all good church musicians are relegated to.
Humors and we ain’t talking ‘sense of….’ http://www.greekmedicine.net/b_p/Four_Humors.html

Depression thru the ages: http://www.gulfbend.org/poc/view_doc.php?&id=12995&cn=5

For those not familiar with The Lords Supper in context of the Catholic Church: http://www.usccb.org/prayer-and-worship/the-mass/order-of-mass/liturgy-of-the-eucharist/the-real-presence-of-jesus-christ-in-the-sacrament-of-the-eucharist-basic-questions-and-answers.cfm

Containers for the sacrament: http://tinyurl.com/nblodzj

Waxing philosophically: some of my favorite, prayerful quotes from Bro Anselm to Claire and Claire’s insights during her time in the chapel.
“But what shall I do?” I had asked him, voice lowered in respect of night and silence as we had approached the chapel.
“Nothing, ma chère,” he had replied, simply. “Only be.”

“After all, I thought, what were days and weeks in the presence of eternity? And that’s what this was, to Anselm and Bartolome, to Ambrose, to all the monks, up to and including the formidable Abbot Alexander.
It was in a way a comforting idea; if there was all the time in the world, then the happenings of a given moment became less important.”

“I told you that the Blessed Sacrament was not alone, for you were there. But what of you, ma chère? Were you alone?”
I stopped, and looked at him for a moment before answering.
“No,” I said. “I wasn’t.”

Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBookstore: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/outlander/id418648691?mt=11

To Ransom a Man’s Soul
By the time I had read this Chapter title the first time, or maybe even the second (or third??) time, I was relieved.  I didn’t know how relieved I was going to get to be, nor did I know I would be in more anguish before the relief, but to have come to this point in the journey was momentous to me.  I knew Claire had gumption and there was NO WAY she was going to leave Jamie after giving up Frrrrraaaaannnnkkk.  (credit to @beaulahcrusoe 😉)

***What was your reaction to Murtaugh’s revelation that Jamie doesn’t want to see Claire. Would you have respected his wishes or blasted thru the door ala Claire?

Some thinking “outloud” on Jamie’s confession to Claire on all that had happened:  Do you know that quote

“Dance like no one is watching, Love like you’ll never be hurt, Sing like no one is listening, Live like it’s heaven on earth.” I think Herself did just that.  She wrote with reckless abandon and we were allowed a peak into a glorious account of characters that invade our lives whether it be in sorrow or joy.  Did you feel it was realistic, the cruelty in which BJR obliterated Jamie’s will to live?  Are there really psychopaths that do this sort of damage to another human being?? Yes, sadly.  Here’s an article that is in normal speak………http://knowledgenuts.com/2013/11/03/the-difference-between-psychopaths-and-sociopaths/

DG has proclaimed herself to_be_BJR, but she is Jamie, as well.  How do authors find the evil in themselves to make these characters realistic? We feel and believe that BJR behaves in an authentic manner.  We trust in the horrific depression that dumps Jamie into a death spiral.  Stephen King fans ask him all the time about the evil that he writes about.
***You authors out there, what emotional threads do you tap into when you have to write about torture, manipulation, rage, or just writing from the antagonist’s point of view?

Is it not enough to know the evil to shun it? If not, we should be sincere enough to admit that we love evil too well to give it up.

 Mahatma Gandhi quotes 

Sadly, we all do love a well written or well played bad guy. Tobias plays BJR so well, you really forget to separate the man from the character.   Yes, yes, I know….We are reading the BOOK    Pffffttt!!

***BJR’s jealousy of Claire, do you think it is a ploy to break Jamie, or is the man actually jealous?  I can see it either way.  You? And I was going to add a question about Alex, but that is in Chapter 40, so if I have to stay away form spoilers, SO DO YOU!!!


💔 “He looked up again with desperate bravery, and spoke very simply.
“I will love you as long as I live, but I cannot be your husband any longer. And I will not be less to you.” His face began to break apart. “Claire, I want you so badly that my bones shake in my body, but God help me, I am afraid to touch you!”

Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.


***This is the most heart wrenching pushing away of a soul mate that I have ever read.  Those words stabbed me in the heart as if I were Claire.  How does one convince a made-up mind that it doesn’t matter, that all you want to do is love them and be there for them and you would wait for eternity until they were ready to begin to heal?  What’s a girl to do??

“I straightened and stood alone.  Well, why not? Surely there was no one else.”  Excerpt From: Gabaldon, Diana. “Outlander.” Bantam Dell, 2004-10-26. iBooks.   This material may be protected by copyright.
***Who did you think Claire was talking about?
For those of you that know me, I am a Christian.  Don’t judge me!!  It’s not my job to judge, either.  It’s my job to love as Christ loved and that is what I will be responsible for upon my death.  I believe you are responsible for your actions upon your death.  If you don’t believe like I do, fine.  Though, I do believe that what I have is more than just fire insurance.  Anywhoooooo……….DG writes about faith and prayer and things eternal.  It’s what really drew me to the books and kept me reading them. The sex is between married adults.  I can appreciate the legitimacy of that sentiment and move on.  It’s the comfortableness of Jamie’s belief in a supreme being, God, even in his prayers that come from the Auld Ones, that have ME believing in the authentic relationship he has with his God.  The conversations that Claire has with Father Anselm are those of a borderline believer searching her heart.  Claire knows not what she is searching for until this part of the book.  She is in the chapel to pray.  For his soul, his healing, she is laying her own soul bare.  Pray is so over used and yet so under appreciated.  It is one of the most misunderstood mediums of communication.  It is used by some as a means to prosperity or even as a reason to hate God.  I believe Claire used it more as we all should.  She was willing to listen and search scriptures.  Key word…….LISTEN.  Her final choice of scripture??  Job, the story of a good man who refused to curse God even after his life is totally destroyed.
Notice she finds peace within her prayers when she GIVES (into thy hands I commend the soul of your servant, James)  She has laid it at the foot of the cross and she leaves it there as she goes out to discover her answer.
Fever: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/003090.htm

More on Fevers: http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/168266.php

Again, as I didn’t know much about the Catholic faith, here is a very good explanation to actually understanding what  Extreme Unction is: http://www.olrl.org/Lessons/Lesson27.shtml

***Claire summons a ghost with the reflecting pool.  Did you have a guess as to who it was going to be?  Did you guess correctly?

I looked and looked for the “greenish tinge” on the death bed and couldn’t find it anywhere.  I recall, while working for the Sisters, that they knew one of our patience was near the end when she had a strange tinge to her skin.  Her circulation was failing and she had a death rattle, not enough strength to clear her throat of mucus while struggling to breathe.  Got lots of slime and discoloration as the body was decaying, but no scientific proof of the green tinge.  Sorry!
***Claire was so conflicted during this part of her journey to save Jamie.  Lavender and valerian scents reminded her of a loving Frank as it did the exact opposite for Jamie, it conjured up rape and violence.  Claire felt she was betraying Frank while saving Jamie through this role play.  She was willing to sacrifice one to rescue the other.  Was ANYONE torn up over this choice she had to make?? It’s not Frank’s fault, right???Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 3.36.57 PM
Valerian, a sweet scented pink flower.
***  “Better to kill him myself then to sit quietly by and let him die” Yes, no??
***Did you cheer when Jamie fought back??  Did you get nervous that he would kill Claire in the process and then where would the sequel be?????

Viking berserkers: http://www.ancient-origins.net/myths-legends/viking-berserkers-fierce-warriors-or-drug-fuelled-madmen-001472

Chinese chrysanthemum: http://tinyurl.com/pzz77f7  What a lovely flower.  No idea that this was a Chinese chrysanthemum.

“Yours would compromise a Bishop”—First laugh in two chapters.  Oh, I was sooooooo relieved.  I didn’t know that I was holding my breath for so long!!
***I wouldna be hungry if I were about to die, do you think? Seems a waste.” And Jamie is back!! What was your response to the comedic release that Herself finally offered us?
I apologize for some of the spacing issues that have occurred.  I tried to go back and fix them, but no luck.  My other question, especially for myself, is HOW IN THE WORLD did I have more words typed for the shortest reading selection weve had so far then when we had the LONGEST read earlier.  I’m either braver (more brave) or dumber (more dumb)  heh heh heh!!
Sincerely,
woodzey1       and      Mrs. Fitz
Leave a Reply

